PRESS RELEASE

Dimapur Crowned Champions after Nail-Biting 1-Wicket Win Over Kohima in the Final of the 5th Late G. Rio Men's U19 Tournament 2025

In a thrilling finale at the **Nagaland Cricket Stadium**, **Dimapur** edged past **Kohima** by **1 wicket** to lift the title in the **5th Late G. Rio Memorial Men's U19 Inter-District Cricket Tournament 2025**. The match was a gripping contest that went down to the final overs, with **Samir Ali's heroic 60-run knock** proving to be the difference.

1st Innings – Kohima: 134/10 in 41.5 Overs

Kohima, choosing to bat first, posted a competitive total of **134 runs in 41.5 overs**. **Vizoletuo Zhale** top-scored with a fluent **32 off 33 balls**, while **Thupuluzo Lohe** provided stability with **26 from 57 balls**.

Dimapur's bowling attack was sharp and consistent, with Yashimeren Jamir taking 3/27 in 10 overs, and Medempok Pongen and Raja Kumar chipping in with two wickets each to restrict Kohima from posting a bigger target.

2nd Innings – Dimapur: 135/9 in 33.4 Overs

Dimapur's chase got off to a rocky start, with regular wickets falling, but **Samir Ali** stood firm under pressure. His **match-winning 60 off 69 balls** anchored the innings and guided Dimapur to victory with just one wicket remaining in **33.4 overs**.

Kohima fought valiantly till the end, with **Vizoletuo Zhale** starring with the ball as well, claiming **4 wickets for 24 runs in 7 overs**, nearly turning the tide in his team's favor.

Player of the Match: Samir Ali (Dimapur)



For his crucial and composed knock of **60 runs**, **Samir Ali** was awarded the **Player of the Match**, playing a pivotal role in helping Dimapur clinch the championship in a high-pressure final.

Match Summary:

Tournament Stage: FinalDate: April 21, 2025

• **Time:** 9:30 AM

• Venue: Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Chümoukedima

• **Result:** Dimapur won by 1 wicket

• Player of the Match: Samir Ali (Dimapur)

This victory marks a memorable end to the tournament for Dimapur, who displayed resilience and teamwork throughout their campaign. The **5th Late G. Rio Men's U19 Tournament** once again showcased the exceptional talent and competitive spirit of Nagaland's emerging cricketers.

PRIZE DISTRIBUTION

• Player of the Tournament: Samir Ali (Dimapur)



Best Batter: Nikato Zhimo (Zunheboto)



• Best Bowler: Sujit Kumar (Niuland)



• Best Wicket Keeper: Renben Kithan (Wokha)



• Champions: Dimapur



• Runners-up: Kohima



The closing and prize distribution ceremony was graced by Mr. M. Khairul Jamal Majumdar, Member of the Apex Council, BCCI.



Stay updated with real-time scores, insights, and highlights throughout the Tournament. Follow us on:

Instagram: @nagaland_cricket_association

• Facebook: Nagaland Cricket Association

• X: @Nagaland CA

• YouTube: Nagaland Cricket Association

For media inquiries, contact, Ajungla Ozukum Media, NCA